Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Sara tutors in Olympia, WA

Sara R.

Private tutor in Olympia, WA

5Sara R.

118 reviews

Education

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign - BS, Engineering Physics , University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign - PhD, Adult & Continuing Education (Post Secondary Science Curriculum & Instruction)

Experience

I am a highly qualified and experienced tutor in the fields of Physics, Mathematics, and Educational Instruction. My own research and studies while achieving my Ph.D. centered around educational and cognitive psychology, and how to make concepts learned in a classroom make a lasting impact. Some of the courses I tutor include Calculus, Physical Science, Algebra, Physics, Psychology, Trigonometry, Newtonian Mechanics, and SAT Preparation. Both my education and my over twelve years of experience have given me adept skills in teaching and instruction, lending me the ability to present complex problems in a way that students are able to easily pick up and understand. My tutoring method includes concepts as well as study skills, strategies, and practical application of information to assist in the retention of complex knowledge. The goal is for students not to need my assistance anymore, as my instruction will have given them the tools and confidence necessary to tackle the course work on their own. I received my Bachelor of Science in Engineering Physics, a Master of Science in the Teaching of Physics, and a Ph.D. in Adult and Continuing Education with a specialization in Post-Secondary Science Curriculum and Instruction. All of my degrees were obtained from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. When I am not involved in academia or tutoring, I spend my free time enjoying, watching stand-up comedy, spending time in nature hiking, knitting, crocheting, and reading. 

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Stand-up comedy, reading, hiking, and knitting & crocheting.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!